Wrapper:  Cameroon
Binder:  Dominican Republic
Filler:  Dominican Republic
Brand:  Arturo Fuente Hemingway Series
Factory: Tabacalera Arturo Fuente y Cia
Price Range:  $5-$7
Was this review helpful?  [ratings]

Since we’ve got the contest rolling this month, I’m trying to knock out two reviews each day this weekend.  Having never wanted/attempted to perform two reviews in a day, I made sure to interject a nap between reviews.  Just makes sense.

Arturo Fuente Hemingway Short Story Review

I have fading light in northern Louisiana, so I chose one of recent favorites:  a Fuente Short Story.  Despite all the glue covering this gorgeous wrapper, I’m a sucker for Fuente Cameroon.  Every damn time.  The warm Christmas notes hit me like a first kiss – can’t get it out of my head.

Arturo Fuente Hemingway Short Story Review

Arturo Fuente Short Story – First Third

Cinnamon, Graham Cracker, Tobacco, Butter Cream Icing, Mineral, Smoked Paprika

The very first couple puffs yield distinct Fuente Cameroon flavors.  Cinnamon, graham cracker, tobacco, and what @cjokrap and I identified as butter cream icing on another review.  There’s also a mineral taste on the finish.

Arturo Fuente Hemingway Short Story Review

This cigar reaches into the spice cabinet and delves deeper than cinnamon as soon as the burn passes over the hump.  Smoked paprika is the first that I’m able to distinguish, and a little spiciness coats the tongue but without the peppercorn flavors.

Short Story is a very smooth cigar for it’s size.  There’s minimal harshness or unnecessary strength, just loads of flavor packed into a tiny package.

Arturo Fuente Short Story – Second Third

Wood, Faint Cinnamon, Floral, Faint Caramel

I swore that I wouldn’t segment this cigar into thirds, but I’ll be damned if there isn’t a new development in the second third.  Wood.  Cinnamon isn’t anywhere near as flavor forward as it was in the beginning, and woodsy notes are beginning to dominate with that same mineral finish.

Arturo Fuente Hemingway Short Story Review

Even more surprising, toward the halfway mark I’m picking up distinct floral notes.  Faint caramel also joins the party.  And, even though there’s Fuente glue all over this wrapper, the band slides off easily.

The floral notes become the leading flavor as I remove the band and judge it to be around the halfway mark.  Can you believe that I’ve never thought of this cigar as floral before?  But it’s here, and unmistakable.  Very good.

Arturo Fuente Short Story – Last Third

Wood, Floral, Peppercorn, Tobacco, Orange Zest

As we transition into the last third of this little flavor bomb, wood begins to take the leading role.  And then, more floral notes with a peppercorn finish.  Very interesting.

[et_bloom_inline optin_id=optin_0]

Finally, a toasty tobacco flavor with a bitter orange zest rounds out the last third of this cigar.

Arturo Fuente Hemingway Short Story Review
9 Reviewer
8.6 Cigar Noise Network (13 votes)
Pros

Showcases Cameroon Wrappers

Very affordable

Flavor Bomb

Cons

Vitola Needs Attention

Summary
Mostly known for a solid winter smoke, I enjoy these as an every day cigar when time is limited or when I just want a good Fuente Cameroon fix. My only con is that this vitola needs attention in both lighting the cigar as well as being careful not to smoke it too fast.
Value
Burn
Draw
Flavor
Enjoyment
What Other Folks Are Saying: 13 Make some Noise
Great lil smoke
This was one of my first smokes back in the mid 90's loves them then and still do..
April 4, 2018, 12:42 pm
Value8.2
Burn9
Draw10
Flavor10
Enjoyment10
0
0
A Wonderful Short Story
I buy’em by the box...one of my favorite small cigar 2nd only to a Habanos Partagas Short’s
October 25, 2017, 11:34 am
Value9
Burn8.9
Draw9.3
Flavor8.9
Enjoyment10
0
0
Great short-ish smoke
I definitely paid too much at my local B&M for this, but the internet prices are much more reasonable. It's an enjoyable Arturo Fuente and while short in size it's not short in smoking time. Took me an hour to finish.
December 18, 2016, 12:42 pm
Value8
Burn9
Draw9
Flavor8
Enjoyment8
0
2
Solid Smoke
These are excellent smokes when time is limited but you want a good solid flavorful smoke. They are not up there with the top of the line smokes in terms of cost, but the are definitely a number of steps above your cheapie yard 'gars.

These are consistent, reliable, solid smokes that are worth the money.
December 17, 2016, 12:59 pm
Value7.5
Burn8
Draw8.5
Flavor7.5
Enjoyment8.5
0
1
Decent Smoke
Eh. There are better Fuentes out there.

I enjoyed the smoke, and the construction and burn of the cigar were on point, but there just wasn't anything "special" about the stick. I enjoyed it nonetheless, but won't be buying any more of these.
June 15, 2016, 7:31 pm
Value8.5
Burn9
Draw8.8
Flavor8.3
Enjoyment8.5
0
0
Great (not-so) short smoke
I love these cigars! They are a fantastic short smoke, but last a little longer than you'd expect given their size.

I find that the foot of the cigar being rolled into that small nub helped me get it lit evenly when I first started smoking cigars.

The price and flavor of this cigar is fantastic. Can't go wrong with it.
March 31, 2016, 3:47 am
Value10
Burn10
Draw9
Flavor8.5
Enjoyment9
0
0
Enjoyed one last weekend - A go-to smoke for the cold days...
As said in the title, I enjoy this smoke. Very affordable for the quality if offers. I'm happy that some brands make shorter cigars for when it's cold out, or just when time is limited.
March 30, 2016, 12:04 am
Value8.8
Burn7.9
Draw7.8
Flavor7.1
Enjoyment8.3
0
0
Very enjoyable. Also good for cold weather or handouts
These are some great offerings from A. Fuente. Always a solid smoke. Great for short smokes during the colder months and to hand out to those friends that will smoke a cigar, but are not as into it as you are. I personally prefer the Maduro offering of this vitola, but both are very solid smokes; especially given the price point. I have noticed that this stick will burn wonky on the nipple foot but straightens up once the burn line gets to the full ring guage
March 29, 2016, 3:07 pm
Value10
Burn9.3
Draw9.5
Flavor8.1
Enjoyment8.5
0
1
Great short smoke
For the price and quality of this little guy. Its hard to beat. I love the natural and maduro versions of this cigar.
March 29, 2016, 2:15 pm
Value8.5
Burn8.1
Draw7.7
Flavor7
Enjoyment10
0
1
Had an opportunity to smoke a Maduro and (part of) a Cameroon on the same day!
So last week I was in Key West, and GF and I brought Hemingway cigars to smoke on Hemingway's Home estate, as I like to do "themed" cigar choices. (Plus, it's a damn good cigar that I smoke anyway, I didn't go out and buy some just because we were going to his home).

She always smokes the Cameroon wrapper, and always the Short Story; I smoke both Cameroons and Maduros, and have smoked the Short Story, Best Seller, and Signature.

We brought a Cameroon for her, and I chose a Maduro for myself. This was part of a contest win from /u/BigNikiStyle, but a local B&M carries them also. But I smoked Big Nik's while I was thinking about it, to make sure I smoked it and didn't give or trade it away.

The maduro had a very toothy wrapper, and it seemed a little "harder" (thicker?) than the Cameroon wrapper.

The first thing I noticed was that the Maduro was much stronger of a smoke than the Cameroons that I smoke more regularly. Very strong flavors of bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate, like the dark chocolate chocolate chips that Nestle's makes for Toll House Cookies. There was also a slight coffee flavor undertone, more subtle than the chocolate, but it was still there.

I know it's traditional to review cigars in thirds, but as short as this cigar was, I didn't feel it had the opportunity to develop flavor changes in the short amount of time it took to smoke it. Still, the chocolate and coffee were enjoyable, so I didn't mind.

As usually happens, I finished mine before GF did; I was going to bring a Best Seller (couldn't find the only one I had left while we were packing) or a Signature (but decided that would be too long of a smoke for the amount of time we were going to have) so that we'd finish at the same time (shut up...) but I ended up with a Short Story too, and when I finished mine, she shared what was left of hers with me.

As I was smoking the Cameroon, I thought, "I actually like this better!" I know most people who smoke the Maduros like them better, but I found the Cameroon to be smoother, milder, and have an easier draw. Which is good, because I have a ton of them left, and unless I find any hiding, that may have been my last Maduro.

Pics/album: http://imgur.com/a/9Wlqn
March 8, 2016, 2:58 pm
Value8
Burn9.5
Draw8
Flavor9
Enjoyment9
1
1
Hemingway Fuente Short Story
This is a very solid cigar and my favorite vitola in the Hemingway line. These are great for the winter months when you need something that does not take too long to smoke. The Maduro version is better but these are always enjoyable.
March 4, 2016, 4:44 pm
Value7
Burn7.5
Draw8
Flavor7
Enjoyment7.5
0
1
Good stick
This stick is good, but looks like someone jizzed all over it because there is so much glue all over it. The flavors were good, but nothing spectacular..

I prefer the maduro version over this one.
February 6, 2016, 10:50 pm
Value9
Burn9
Draw9
Flavor8
Enjoyment8
0
0
Great smoke for newcomers, I always keep a box of these around.
When I first got into smoking cigars, I liked shorter, more mild cigars. You know, a cigar that has great aroma, some sweetness and one that I didn't have to commit to a couple of hours of time for a smoke session. The Short Story was my go-to stick. The price is good, time commitment is short and the flavors are just in the range that I could enjoy with my young palate. Fast-forward ten years and I still keep a box of these around for friends that want to enjoy a stick with me, but have the same concerns I had when I first started out. I still like to enjoy one on occasion as well. I put this in the mild/medium category in terms of strength. It has a nice sweet cedar woodsy-ness and I sometimes pick up a touch of coffee. It's a very smooth cigar that always seems to gently introduce the world of cigars to people while also satisfying my own more seasoned and adventurous taste.
January 31, 2016, 7:21 pm
Value8.5
Burn8.5
Draw9
Flavor9
Enjoyment8.7
0
0
Show more
Make some Noise

Lets Connect

Dave West

Editor and Contributor at CigarNoise
Identifying as a Cigar Enthusiast more than an Aficionado, I enjoy trying new cigars and attempting to annotate my experience. Disclosure: As of June 2017, I began writing for SmallBatchCigar.com and will no longer be reviewing SBC exclusives
Lets Connect