Wrapper:  Ecuadorian Connecticut Hybrid 2006
Binder:  Dominican Republic Habano 2006
Filler: Dominican Criollo 98 (Viso 2008), Dominican Corojo (Ligero 2006), Nicaraguan Habano (Seco 2007)
Brand:  Caldwell
Factory: Tabacalera William Ventura
Price Range:  $5-$7
Availability:  Store Exclusive (SmallBatchCigar)
Was things review helpful?  [ratings]

Shoutout:  about 6 weeks ago, Andrew from Small Batch sent me several cigars to smoke and review.  Today we finally sit down and review the Caldwell Eastern Standard Marble House.  It’s a limited edition having only 3,700 cigars produced (100 boxes at 37 per) and weighs in at 40 x 5″.

If you’re taking notes, Andrew was also the first to give the CigarNoise community a discount!  Much love for this guy.

I’ve smoked a few of these cigars over the last couple months, and so far the Eastern Standard Euro Express ( 44 x 5.5″) has to be my favorite coffee cigar!  I’ll have to review it this week as well.  From what I remember of this Marble House vitola, it’s a little harsher up front but retains a lot of the core flavors of the original Eastern Standard.

Caldwell Eastern Standard Marble House Pigtail Cap

Caldwell Marble House – First Third

Earth, Cayenne (?), Cocoa

Initial puffs are rich in earth with a spicy pepper (cayenne?) finish in both the mouth and retrohale. Coffee, my favorite pairing with the Eastern Standard line, brings out a subtle cocoa from this cigar.

I love how the Eastern Standard packs a punch with lingering pepper – this is no exception.  It’s the perfect amount of spice to wake you, while maintaining a smooth profile.  Yet the Caldwell Marble House uses the same tweak as the Silk Road variation of Eastern Standard, and the smaller vitola definitely boosts the strength of the cigar in general.

Caldwell Eastern Standard Marble House First Third

Have you smelled 100% natural Cocoa Butter recently?  That’s exactly what this cigar is reminding me of right now.  Potent nuances of cocoa at around the 3/4 inch mark with a charred oak aftertaste.

So far the burn has remained nice and even with a thin combustion line.  Draw is spot on.

Caldwell Marble House – Second Third

Coffee, Cedar, Plums

Entering the second third, I tap the ash and am welcomed by coffee!  Coffee used to be one of my least favorite notes, but after smoking several of these I can appreciate it more and more.  The coffee in the Eastern Standard line isn’t Community Coffee from the gas station – it’s deep, rich, and has a creamy undertone.  Like french press coffee with a splash of heavy whipping cream.

While most of the spice has left us for now, it’s still present from time to time.  I really thought I would break this review into 1/2s instead of 1/3s, but the coffee transition and diminishing pepper made me change my mind.

Nearing the halfway mark, a soft cedar is beginning to develop.  It’s not in your face like the Blind Man’s Bluff – it’s subtle, pleasant, and an interesting addition to a background of coffee.

Caldwell Eastern Standard Marble House Second Third

A little further, fruit also decides to join the party.  @frenchmade and I were discussing plums several days ago on the Don Carlos Personal Reserve review, and that’s exactly what this cigar is bringing to the table right now.  Coffee, soft cedar, and faint plums.

Side note:  I know for a fact that I wouldn’t have been able to detect any sort of fruitiness from this cigar six months ago.  It’s something that comes from analyzing what you’re smoking over and over and over.  CigarNoise.com was originally launched because I thought that most reviews published were over the layman’s head, contrived, and possibly just jargon.  While that’s not fair to many of the fine reviewing websites out there, it was my intent to create a website for the average cigar smoker – not the twenty year veteran.  Thus, while my palette grows and my reviews become longer and more thorough, I’ll try to include these notes for the Dave of Summer 2015 that wanted exactly that. 

Smallbatchbanner

**Insert business call for 25 minutes**

Caldwell Marble House – Last Third

Cream, Coffee, Graham Cracker Crust, Wood

Damn, didn’t expect a call in the middle of this review, luckily I have the memory of Loxodonta africana.  Cream, breakfast blend coffee, graham cracker pie crust, and woodsy notes characterized the missing twenty minutes.  The smoke itself had a dusty aspect to it from time to time that I really enjoy.  The cream this time is unmistakable heavy whipping cream.  Just delicious.

I’ve got to say, this cigar has only gotten better after the midway point.  With just about 1 1/2 inches left, I’m still chugging along and loving it.

The wrapper is cracking a bit as we approach the nub, but I’m not overly concerned.  It’s freezing out here, and going from ~70 degrees inside to ~32 degrees outside has to take a toll on a cigar.  But – and there’s a but, seems to be more common lately in Ecuadorian Hybrid wrappers.

As we get into nub city, that rich coffee thats been so pervasive throughout is turning stale and a little bitterness starts to sneak up on me.  And, just had to relight for the first time.  Definitely not my favorite place to relight a cigar.  I’ll give it a few moments to settle in before picking this Caldwell Marble House up again.

We’re back!  More stale coffee, oak, and a very prominent barnyard profile takes over.  Guess it’s time to put this one down.

Caldwell Eastern Standard Marble House Last Third

Considering a box of 37 is $255 at Small Batch makes this a sub $7 cigar, I think I definitely got my money’s worth!

Caldwell Marble House (Eastern Standard) Review
9.2 Reviewer
8.9 Cigar Noise Network (15 votes)
Pros

Great Burn and Draw

Excellent Coffee Cigar

Summary
I've been discovering lately that most of Caldwell's blends are take it or leave it, love it or hate it. This one seems to be more of a traditional blend and is an excellent contender for a Morning/Afternoon Cigar. Lots of character, this well-balanced cigar is an excellent medium bodied and medium strength cigar. If you like the Marble House variation, definitely try the Eastern Standard Puro Express vitola - my favorite!
Value
Burn
Draw
Flavor
Enjoyment
What Other Folks Are Saying: 15 Make some Noise
I'm a fan!
I'm a fan of shorter smokes, and this is up there. I love the spicy taste; however, enjoy the first third a lot better. 2nd third is fuller in strenght, and after the first 15-20 minutes, the spicy taste that I enjoy is lost in the more woody taste.

Nonetheless, I really enjoy this one! Not a celebratory cigar, but certainly a go to, everyday smoke.
March 30, 2016, 12:11 am
Value8.7
Burn8.3
Draw8.8
Flavor9.5
Enjoyment9.3
0
0
great cigar
not that much a fan of the first third (where it has a slight amount of pepper), but really like the second and last thirds where they are creamy with the slight nectary sweetness. however I always experience burn issues with the eastern standards
March 29, 2016, 4:16 pm
Value10
Burn5.4
Draw8.7
Flavor8.5
Enjoyment8.9
0
0
Love this little smoke!
This little guy packs a lovely punch that begins with a bang and never lets up. Swirling complexity of cayenne pepper spice, started with light milk chocolate then moved to deep earthy chocolate, Costa Rican coffee, raspberry sweetness. The draw was good but required a fairly strong pull every 30-45 seconds to stay happy. If you let it sit for a minute or longer the cherry would sputter and die out shortly after.
March 29, 2016, 3:54 pm
Value9.5
Burn8.7
Draw9.1
Flavor9.3
Enjoyment9.4
0
0
Good smoke
I got the pleasure of trying one of these in a blind tasting. This was my first Eastern Standard. While it was good I just don't see the hype.
March 4, 2016, 2:36 pm
Value8.3
Burn8.8
Draw8.7
Flavor8.3
Enjoyment8.5
0
0
Instant Classic
First light brings a touch of pepper to the palate and a subtle leather that lingers on the finish. As it develops, the soft leather note begins to lead with a thick mouthfeel as a subtle sweetness grows in the background. The second third brings even richer flavor with a cedar on the draw as the leather remains long into the finish. It has an increasingly sweet, dessert-like consistency as the pepper has all but faded. By the final third, the pepper returns to a small degree without losing any consistency. If anything, the sweet, cedary, leather profile as grown. There’s a touch more pepper near the nub but is well balanced by sweetness.
March 4, 2016, 5:27 am
Value8.5
Burn9
Draw9
Flavor9.5
Enjoyment10
0
0
A blend I already like in a new vitola for me
This is the second or third Marble House I've had this month (out of a six-pack I got from Small Batch), plus I had an Eastern Standard Cakewalk this past summer. But this was the first Marble House that I had my camera with me as well as time and opportunity to review it.
I'm going to review this cigar in fourths rather than thirds, as there were three distinct profile changes that divided the cigar into fourths, rather than thirds.
The first fourth was surprisingly peppery, something I had not gotten from previous Eastern Standards, or at least something I had not noticed. That took me by surprise.
The pepper didn't last very long at all, not even a full fourth, and quickly gave way to a grassy/hay/lemongrass type of flavor. When I say hay, though, it was kind of this sweet hay, like this Timothy Hay I used to feed my rabbits when I had rabbits. And I added lemongrass to the grass profile I got, because it took on a citrus-y flavor in addition to the grassy flavor.
Third fourth, the lemongrass flavor remained, and this peanut-y flavor emerged. Kind of reminded me of this lemongrass in peanut sauce I've gotten on Thai food.
Fourth quarter, all the non-tobacco flavors disappeared, and I was left with a very smooth, very mellow, tobacco flavor.

Pics/album/ash/nub: http://imgur.com/a/UcW54
January 31, 2016, 11:27 pm
Value6.5
Burn9
Draw9
Flavor9
Enjoyment9.5
0
2
Favorite coffee/cigar pairing
When I end up with one of these in my humi I know I've got a great morning in the near future. It is one of my favorites to pair with coffee and a book on the patio.
January 30, 2016, 7:14 am
Value9
Burn9
Draw9
Flavor10
Enjoyment10
0
1
Mr. Caldwell, thanks for reminding me how much I love cigars!
This is a fantastic cigar! I've been smoking cigars for about 10 years now and have, at times, found myself falling into a boring pattern of only buying the usual suspects. When I smoked this, I had not heard of anything Robert Caldwell oriented, no Wynnwood cigars, etc.— this I found to be a wonderful surprise! I remember getting some nice sweet spice, wood and leather in the beginning and will never forget the beautiful transitions throughout the stick. Some cocoa, some coffee... And this really nice citrusy floral-like note on the retro hale. It was definitely one of those sticks that reminded me of how much I love cigars and actually sent me off looking for more different and unfamiliar sticks.
January 30, 2016, 3:09 am
Value9
Burn8.8
Draw10
Flavor10
Enjoyment9.5
0
1
a great creamy and smooth cigar
one of my favorites for something smooth and creamy. my favorite part is between the second and last thirds. there is a great sweetness that mixes with the other flavours so well. however I have always had burn issues with these.
January 25, 2016, 3:00 pm
Value8.9
Burn6.9
Draw9.1
Flavor8
Enjoyment8.5
0
1
Go to Mornin Gar
Great review Dave! Love the draw and flavor on these little firecrackers. They've got a nice creamy, sweet finish. Slowly, but surely, becoming my go to morning stick.
January 22, 2016, 8:56 pm
Value9
Burn9.1
Draw9.3
Flavor9.3
Enjoyment9.1
0
0
Favorite Caldwell
I really enjoyed the surprising balance between spice and cream. Excellently paired with coffee or a solid dark Stout. My favorite Caldwell stick so far!
January 19, 2016, 7:06 pm
Value9
Burn8
Draw8
Flavor9
Enjoyment9
0
0
Caldwell + Coffee
This is absolutely one of my favorite pairings with my morning cup of coffee or espresso. Pairs so well and the flavors really compliment one another. Mild yet flavorful enough to stand up to a nice brew. I always make sure I have a handful of these in my humidor.
January 19, 2016, 3:11 pm
Value9
Burn10
Draw9.5
Flavor9.5
Enjoyment10
0
0
Killer boutique
Just started diving into the Caldwell brand and at the very least you have to love their marketing & branding. Awesome creative work done on all their blends and this one is no different. As for the cigar itself, it's not my favorite Caldwell; I prefer the Long Livevthe King and blind mans bluff but it's still a quality stick that's worth a try if you haven't already. Not overly powerful but still packs a flavorful punch.
January 19, 2016, 3:15 am
Value8.5
Burn8
Draw8.7
Flavor7.5
Enjoyment8.6
0
0
Great short smoke
I did not get the cocoa, but the main flavors were cedar, coffee and a nuts. There was a good amount of creamy smoke, and the construction and draw were excellent! Definitely worth trying if you have not.
January 19, 2016, 1:43 am
Value8.5
Burn9.4
Draw9.2
Flavor8.8
Enjoyment9
0
0
Marble house in da house
Received this from a trade and i was quite pleased. I thought it to be very woodsy, lightly spicy and slightly creamy . I didn't have any issues with construction or burn. All in all a great cigar!
January 19, 2016, 1:05 am
Value8.5
Burn9
Draw8.2
Flavor8.2
Enjoyment8.6
0
2
Show more
Make some Noise

Lets Connect

Dave West

Editor and Contributor at CigarNoise
Identifying as a Cigar Enthusiast more than an Aficionado, I enjoy trying new cigars and attempting to annotate my experience. Disclosure: As of June 2017, I began writing for SmallBatchCigar.com and will no longer be reviewing SBC exclusives
Lets Connect