Wrapper: Ecuadorian Habano
Binder: Nicaraguan
Filler: Nicaraguan
Brand: CAO
Factory: STG Esteli
Price Range:  $5-$7
Was this review helpful?  [ratings]

One of the most surprising cigar experiences I’ve had recently.  Below is a quick video and a couple pics.  Have you smoked this cigar before?  What’d you think?


CAO Pilon Review | CigarNoise

[et_bloom_inline optin_id=optin_0]

CAO Pilon Review | CigarNoise

Video: CAO Pilon Robusto Review
9 Reviewer
8.3 Cigar Noise Network (7 votes)
Pros

Smooth, Easy-Goin Cigar

Excellent with Coffee

Cons

Becomes Spongy

Tighter Draw than I prefer

Summary
All in all, I really enjoyed the CAO Pilon. I'll definitely be getting more in stock to keep around for daily cigars. If you enjoy smooth, flavorful cigars, this is one that should definitely be in your humidor.
Value
Burn
Draw
Flavor
Enjoyment
What Other Folks Are Saying: 7 Make some Noise
Smooth and Tasty
I had this cigar about a month ago from a local shop. I let it rest in the humidor for a week or two and then took it out for a nice evening smoke. It cut and burned smoothly with flavorful smoke that was not harsh and did not get bitter. The flavors paired well with the cup of coffee I was drinking.

It was $5.99 at the shop, and I got it for a dollar off, so $4.99 per stick.
December 17, 2016, 12:52 pm
Value10
Burn8
Draw9
Flavor7.5
Enjoyment9.5
0
0
Solid.
This is a great smoke for the price. I bought a box of them and have let them age 6-8 weeks or so, and they have performed perfectly. Great Nicaraguan flavors, and nearly flawless construction.

These smokes have a nice, mild kick to them typical of most Nicaraguan smokes, but aren't as spicy most My Father blends or the Oliva Series V.

Definitely a worthwhile addition to any humidor.
June 15, 2016, 7:25 pm
Value9.5
Burn9
Draw9
Flavor8.5
Enjoyment9
0
1
Awesome cigar
Very nice flavors. Excellent burn and construction.
March 29, 2016, 2:58 pm
Value8.5
Burn9
Draw9
Flavor9
Enjoyment9
0
0
Pretty good, oddly spongy
I had the corona - it came through spongy but otherwise great on construction. Flavors were mostly pepper, with some creaminess, bread, cedar, and a sour-fruit-beer-like aftertaste for a bit.

Draw and construction were right on point. Sponginess didn't seem to matter.
March 14, 2016, 10:19 pm
Value7.5
Burn8
Draw9
Flavor8.1
Enjoyment8
0
0
Newb McGue
i think it is imparitive to understand the context in which i had this cigar to understand why i like it so much. i didn't know the price point I'm am a professed Newb with Cigars. i had this cigar after driving over 14 hours in one day. i was hit with spice, earth and some sort of cream taste ( mind you my palate sucks). the burn was very solid not a ton of smoke but enough draw for me. i honestly would have thought this to be a 12$ cigar at max about 10$ at least then finding out its around 6$ blew me away. sometimes having a newb mind helps out bc i have no clue what to expect and it was a gift so i had no clue the price. i think its a steal for the money but Ol Newb McGue could be wrong.
March 14, 2016, 10:09 pm
Value10
Burn9
Draw7
Flavor9
Enjoyment10
0
0
Not my favorite cao
Saw these on several peoples top 10 list of 2015 so I grabbed a couple. Maybe I just had a bad batch, but they just did not want to burn right. One I had to toss not even a third of the way in because of how bad it tunneled. Also had issues with keeping them lit and getting extremely spongy. If I bought anymore, I would probably try letting them sit for at least 6 months.
March 14, 2016, 5:15 pm
Value8.3
Burn3.2
Draw4
Flavor7.5
Enjoyment2.6
0
0
Very good
When I first had this last year I was sceptical at first. But Rich Rodriquez, the blender for CAO, knocked this one out of the park. Thats why it made my top 10 for 2015
March 4, 2016, 12:53 pm
Value9.2
Burn9.3
Draw9.1
Flavor9.3
Enjoyment9
0
0
Show more
Make some Noise

Lets Connect

Dave West

Editor and Contributor at CigarNoise
Identifying as a Cigar Enthusiast more than an Aficionado, I enjoy trying new cigars and attempting to annotate my experience. Disclosure: As of June 2017, I began writing for SmallBatchCigar.com and will no longer be reviewing SBC exclusives
Lets Connect